Laya and Layakari.

“Laya” means Rythm and “Kari ” means doing .It is basically everthing realted to rythm of music ie singing ,dance and intrumental.Though Laya and Layakari are different from each other being Laya has three forms :

1.Vilambit-Slow Tempo for eg Bilambit ektaal.generally Bada Khayal is sung in this.

2.Madhya-Medium tempo for eg Madhya Tritaal

3.Dhrut-Fast Tempo.

Layakari has follwing types:

1.Thaay-Foremost while singing ,One beat is decided for every note.It is also known as Ekgunki.

1     2      3     4 (every digit denotes one beat).

2.Adhgun-In this ,Two beats is decided for one notes or words.So every Swar is incresed by one beat to make it half.It is denoted by a dash(-).

1 – 2- 3 – 4 -.

3.Dugun-For one beat two words are sung.Two beats are joined together and is generally denoted by a curve under two words.

12     34    56   78.

4.Teegun-For every single beat three words are sung.

123    456    789 .

In the same way Chaugun(four),Panchgun(five)Chagun(six) are also there.

5.Aad- Uneven form of layakari is known as Aad.The beats and notes don’t follow a straight form like dugun or chaugun.In this I beat has 3 notes or 4 beats have 5 notes etc.Aad is also known as Dergun ie in 2 beats # notes are sung.


About Aditi Jha

Music lover who wants to share love for music
This entry was posted in Music Glossary and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s